Rare Situation, Rejected from HPSP after accepting... keep reading....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaliMedStudent16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
All right bear with me... I'm pretty flabbergasted after the call I received today from the HPSP recruiter I have been working with for several months.

To set the scene: I will be starting my first year in osteopathic medical school in 1 week. I had been planning on doing the Air Force HPSP and was working with a recruiting office based out of Aurora, CO.

On April 25, 2016, (approx. 5 months before the start of med school) I receive the wonderful e-mail:

"Congratulations on your selection for the Air Force Health
Professions Scholarship Program! I've attached the letter of acceptance in
this email. Please review it, sign, and send back to me. Please change the
date to the estimated date of completion from medical school. Call if you
have any questions or concerns."​

This is great news! I signed the form immediately. It was the official letter for acceptance and the wording is as follows:

"It is a pleasure to inform you that you have been selected for a commission in the United States Air

Force MC Health Professions Scholarship Program pursuing a doctorate in Medicine with an

expected completion date of June 30, 2020.

Please sign the acknowledgment below and return it as soon as possible in order to initiate the

commissioning paperwork. We look forward to having you on our Air Force team."