Read and give serious thought before coming to OHSU

CaptainOgle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year dental student at OHSU and would like to give all of the prospective dental students a little bit of sight into this university.

We recently got a new dean (3rd dean for us in 4 years). Phillip Marucha. He comes to us from University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry where he was the associate dean for research and director of graduate studies. He graduated from University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine. He is a periodontist and a Ph.D. in immunology. He's an east coaster. Now there is nothing wrong with being an east coaster, but I think we will all admit that there is a difference in philosophy of teaching/learning/leading between the two coasts. It has always been my opinion that OHSU has a reputation for making strong clinicians. And I am afraid this will not be the case in the future.

The dean is cutting way back on clinical training and instead focusing on academic dentistry. Last year our first year class never learned how to cut a crown prep. There will be no more casting projects as they did not move the casting equipment to the new school. A first year student told me that in a meeting with the dean and her entire class she asked what he would be doing to to protect the clinical reputation of the school with all of the cut backs on clinical training and his response was "Do you want to get good grades or do you want to be good at making Jewelry?" I wasn't there for this but the girl who asked the question relayed this story to me.