Reading here has me worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FrkyBgStok

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok. Here is my situation. I have approximately a 3.4 cum gpa, but plan on retaking my prereqs and applying DO. this will put me back to a 3.8 approx. i haven't taken the mcat but i am concerned with me ECs.

the problem is I work nights 5pm-5am driving a semi for a freight company. with classes during the day i have little time for a full (or even a part time) schedule. I am currently working on getting a CNA job working saturday nights. I will do this for approximately 2 years before i apply. I also have 3 kids to support.

My concern is i see all these other students with research, volunteering, shadowing, etc. I simply don't have time for this. I did shadow a doctor who was on the admissions committee at DMU (I am a des moines resident) and would ideally go there. He mentioned he would give me a great LOR but I have kind of lost touch with him a little bit and don't have time to shadow him again. Maybe i should make time.

i wanted to hear other people's opinions on how i should proceed. I can't really cut my full time job hours down. it's just the nature of the business. should i try to make time even if it means i am less aggressive with taking classes (only taking 1 or 2 instead of 2 or 3) or should i be happy with what i have? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Alot of people that gets into medschool dont go on this site. We that goes on here represent a minority of the student that will attend medical school. I wouldnt take the stats thrown out on SDN seriously.

I myself have average stats and a bad MCAT score. If i listened to some of these people (on SDN)'s advice I wouldnt apply and never have gotten accepted to medical school.

The point is we arent experts we just assume this is what its needed to get in!!

Members don't see this ad :)