Really discouraged.. could use some objective advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lhmhtd

℅ something somewhere eventually
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well, after a very rough semester and countless hours of studying and tears, I have failed physics. I've never failed a class in my life. I studied for the final for literally 25-30 hours, and felt that I did alright. I checked grades on elearning and somehow I made a 23% on the final exam... I even emailed the professor asking him to double check if it had been entered incorrectly. He double checked and that is the grade I made. I have no idea how i managed to do so poorly. After a very crappy weekend, with hours of crying and several alcoholic beverages, I'm stuck in a rut. I paid 8k for this class for one (sickening, right?) and on top of that, I will no longer have my pre reqs completed by Spring semester, disqualifying my application, and throwing hours of hard work and hundreds of dollars out the window. Worse, my GPA is probably totally ruined at this point. I also am doing a work-study in which I help out in the necropsy lab about 10 hours a week, but i will not be paying another 8k for the same class, so I have to tell the lab that i cannot do the work-study anymore. I have a meeting with this professor this week to look over my exam and see where I went wrong, and if ANYTHING can be done. He made it very clear at the beginning of the semester that there are no A's for effort and no extra credit opportunities. I'm absolutely devastated, and I'm not sure what to do at this point. I know it's not the end of the world, but it sure as hell feels like it. I was hoping there's someone else who has hit a speed bump in their vet school journey and can offer some positive words.

Members don't see this ad.