Really need some advice here

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bovishadopt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
OK so-
I was going to apply for last years cycle but after realizing how burnt out I was from college I decided to take a year off and apply for the class of 2020.

I graduated with a 2.9 cumulative, biology major at a competitive university. I still need to take 2-3 pre-req courses. The first time I took the OAT I went in without studying and got a 290 TS 300 AA. The second time (last week) I took it after a very studious month, however my nerves allowed me to have insomnia the week of my exam and I took the exam after 3 nights of no sleep (scored a 270 TS 300AA). I was devastated because everything on the exam was familiar I was just so tired that the brightness of the computer screen was killing me. I know it sounds like I'm making up an excuse but I really did study my life away, I just made the mistake of not delaying my exam and getting rest...

Anyways after a couple of days of trying to figure out my options I narrowed my "plans" into two options:

1. Taking a break from "the classroom" to work as a tech/assistant to revamp my passion for optometry while studying for the OAT and retake it later this year (with a peaceful state of mind) -I would turn in my application whenever I get hired so they can know that I am working to improve my optometric experience and also know I plan on retaking) and take the pre-req courses in the spring.
2. Go ahead and take my pre-req courses at my local university this fall to get my GPA up and retake the OAT when I'm done (like in Dec-Jan)- I would turn in my app after I'm done with those classes so they see the higher GPA first....(not sure)