Reapplicant MCAT / Grad School / Active Duty Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cosmiccarbon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a degree in biology in 2010 with a 3.4 science and a 3.6 overall. The first time I took the mcat (2009) I scored a 21. When I took the mcat again for the second time (2010) I got a 23. I applied to two interviews and two rejections.

I started a two year M.S. in biology program and completed the first year before being called up for active duty military service. While on active duty, I took two University of New England courses and did very well.

I recently returned from active duty and have been studying for the January 2013 exam date. I flat out do not feel prepared, I'm very dated on topics like physics and general chemistry. I leave again for another tour of duty in February 2013 and will be gone for 9 months (returning Dec 2013).

• Should I even be attempting to apply for the application cycle starting in 2013?
  • Seeing how I've taken the MCAT two times already, should I hold off until I'm 100% ready for the exam?
  • Will medical schools care if I left my masters program?

Any advice / feedback is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Thank you for your service.
Should I even be attempting to apply for the application cycle starting in 2013?
I vote no, more below.
Seeing how I've taken the MCAT two times already, should I hold off until I'm 100% ready for the exam?
Yes, absolutely do not take the MCAT if you aren't sure you can improve your score.
Will medical schools care if I left my masters program?
Active duty is a perfectly good reason to leave, but you'll need to have a good story for why you didn't go back.