Reapplicant needing advice on school choice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canemdhopeful

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having a bit of trouble when it comes to choosing schools to apply to for this cycle and I was hoping for some feedback. I applied to 17 MD schools in the 2016 cycle and I am currently on two waitlists, one middle priority and one unspecified.
A little about myself:
I am a PA resident and I graduated in 2015 from a school in Florida.
I had a 3.7 cGPA with a 3.55 sGPA. I have a well defined upward trend however, excluding freshman year it would be about a 3.85 for both GPAs.
517 MCAT (130 Chemical and Physical, 127 CARS, 131 Biological and Biochemical, 129 Psych/Soc)
About 325 hours physician shadowing
About 200 hours clinical volunteering and counting, I add about 4 each week (all new since last cycle)
About 90 hours of miscellaneous non-clinical volunteering when I was an undergrad. I plan on getting involved during the upcoming year as well, ideally after the rush of secondaries.
Worked as a Wet Chemistry Technician for 3 months in my gap year while I was waiting for a better opportunity. Started in February as a research technician and I've put in about 600 hours thus far. I am working on having my first paper published as first author by July or August.

I'm planning on applying to 20 MD schools and 5 DO schools for the 2015 cycle, I'm thinking:
MD: Drexel, Jefferson, Temple, Penn, Penn State, Pitt, Colorado, Miami, UVA, VCU, TCMC, Tufts, Emory, Dartmouth, USC, Loyola, NY Medical College, Quinnipiac, and two others that I have yet to decide, maybe Vermont, USF or Maryland. My advisor mentioned Alabama Birmingham but it doesn't look all that promising out of state.
DO: PCOM, NYIT College of Medicine, Tuoro NY, Nova Southeastern and Rowan