Reapplying...What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureENTChicago

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a recent graduate with a bachelor's of sciene in Molecular and Cellular Biology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Unfortunately, I will not be getting into medical school this upcoming year, and am preparing myself to reapply this cycle and was looking for some advice on how to improve my application.

GPA/MCAT:
Cumulative GPA = 3.75
Science GPA = 3.70
MCAT= 30

Clinical Experience:
None the first time around, but come the second cycle will have 100+ hrs shadowing, as well as volunteer work in a hospital

Volunteer Experience:
Very minimal the first time around, but come the second cycle I will have 50+ hours volunteering at a retirement home, 50+ hours volunteering at Down Syndrome Awareness House, and leading a program at the Ronald McDonald House

Research Experience:
1 year of research as a volunteer
Will be 2 years before the second cycle as well as being published in a paper

ECs:
2 years on LAS Council (Leadership Program for Liberal Arts and Science students)
3 years on MCB Ligase (Leadership/Tutor Program for Molecular and Cellular Biology Students
Captain on my intramural sports team 3 years (basketball/football)

LORs:
1 from science teacher
1 from non-science teacher
1 from research professor
1 personal

I think the weak points in my application were my volunteering and Letters of Rec, as well as the fact that I waited to apply till late October/Early November.

What do you think my chances are, assuming I apply as early as possible (which I will be!)

Members don't see this ad.

not to be an ass, but i think it's pretty obvious why you weren't able to get in the first time around.