Regarding admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

janlynjs

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I studied in the Philippines for Nursing and just recently graduated. I am planning to take up Medicine here in California. Can anyone advise me with what initial steps I should take because I'm just so confused right now. I don't have anyone to help guide me and it's causing me to lose hope. I have already emailed the schools that I plan on applying to. I've inquired as well as asked for their advice.

UCSF replied back to me emailed this message:

We accept coursework and degrees from any accredited institution or the foreign equivalent. Graduates of foreign institutions are also required to complete a year of study at an accredited U.S. institution.

and UCDavis told me this:

ALL applicants to our school must have completed a MINIMUM of 90 semester hours or 135 quarter units of coursework from an accredited U.S. college. Coursework/degree completed in another country DOES NOT satisfy this requirement. I suggest that you submit a transcript from your school in the Philippines to a 4-year college near your home to determine how much credit you would be granted towards fulfilling an undergraduate degree at that school. In other words, plan on completing a bachelor's degree HERE in the U.S. THEN apply to medical school. This has been the easiest/quickest route for individuals with a similar background.

If you choose not to pursue this route then you should plan to enrolling at a 4-year college to complete a MINIMUM of 20 to 30 semester hours of upper-division advanced biology courses (e.g. biochemistry, genetics, molecular/cellular biology, physiology) BEFORE taking the MCAT then applying to medical school. You have our best wishes for your future endeavors.