Registered for 1/13/15 MCAT on a whim--good or bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NickyP86

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Some background, I graduated two years ago with an awful GPA. I retook my prereqs over the past 3 semesters and will be finishing up orgo 2 in the spring. The material is still mostly pretty fresh in my memory (with the exception of physics, which I seem to have forgotten completely) and I was planning on applying in the 2015 cycle for DO programs.

A seat opened up in my area for the MCAT and I took it, after my parents who happened to be in the room said I should just to at least see where I stand before continuing this madness of spending more money taking more classes to boost my GPA. So I signed up because I also want to avoid the 2015 MCAT, where I would have to take stats and biochem (I was a psychology major so maybe it would help to take the 2015 MCAT?) and further delay my application by doing so.

So between here and now, I thought I could go HAM and study as if it's my full time job til January 13, but panic is already setting in and I feel as if it won't be enough time. Granted, I won't have to review organic as much since I just finished orgo 1 this fall but I will pretty much have to relearn physics. Any suggestions? Should I just wait it out and take the dreaded 2015 MCAT?

Members don't see this ad.

Do not sit for the MCAT unless you are consistently achieving an acceptable score on AAMC practice tests.

That said, you could definitely reach that point within one month. Especially if your goal is DO, and if you are good at standardized tests.