Rehabilitation Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychBoxe

Postdoctoral Fellow
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to the literature and practice of rehabilitation psychology and would like to know if forum members have clinical experience in medical rehabilitation settings (inpatient, long-term care). I matched to an inpatient health psychology program and would like to know more about "what it looks like" to support the literature I am collecting. I recently joined Division 22 of APA (Rehab Psych) and it has already been an amazing resource. Any thoughts on this subfield of psychology would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am new to the literature and practice of rehabilitation psychology and would like to know if forum members have clinical experience in medical rehabilitation settings (inpatient, long-term care). I matched to an inpatient health psychology program and would like to know more about "what it looks like" to support the literature I am collecting. I recently joined Division 22 of APA (Rehab Psych) and it has already been an amazing resource. Any thoughts on this subfield of psychology would be appreciated.
I am not knowledgeable about the field (am a Counseling Psych grad and have worked in CMH/SMI settings in my career)---but think Rehab Psych is one of the most viable career development areas for the future, due to the aging of the population and TBI/trauma recovery. It would be great to have more about it on this board.

Just make sure you stick to the moderate to severe TBI populations in rehab. When I work with mild TBI, my batteries turn into SVT/PVT batteries with a hint of real neuropsych thrown in. Too many mild TBI pts can make one jaded.

Members don't see this ad :)