Reporting USMLE score from prior school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JimBobDO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have a bit of an odd situation that I'm seeking advice about:

I am a non-traditional student at a U.S. Osteopathic school. Non-traditional in the sense that I previously attended an allopathic school while dealing with a chronic illness, got as far as Step 1, failed twice, and withdrew to deal with the health problem.

I then went on to have surgery which has put my illness in complete remission, got a M.S. in education, taught math for a few years, and then reapplied Osteopathic and was accepted. While a student at my current school I have made excellent grades, have numerous volunteer and leadership experiences, as well as research.

I am currently prepping for boards and my practice tests have been going great. I have no doubt that I will pass on my first try this time. I am currently registered to take both USMLE and COMLEX. My goal is to secure a very strong Psychiatry residency.

My question is: Am I wise to take both exams this go-around? I understand that if I apply ACGME (and those are the programs I am currently most interested in), I will have to disclose that I took the USMLE (whether or not I take it again). From what I understand, even if I answer yes to that question on ERAS, I don't have to disclose my past scores. If I do take the USMLE and report those scores, obviously the transcript will include my two past failures.

My questions:
1) Should I take the USMLE this time?
2) Should I report my past USMLE scores? (I know that I have to indicate that I took it.)
3) Will I be "filtered" from being even considered by some programs due to my past at another school, regardless of circumstances?