Required Courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

G.A.'s Finest

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to SDN. I'm a Canadian student who is looking to enter a US dental school in the future. I have seen posts here and there regarding the following topics, but perhaps somebody can confirm/address the following for me?

- I have heard that OAC (grade 13 over here) english will fulfill the 1 year english requirement. Is this true for all US schools?

- American schools require 1 year orgo and general chem, both with lab components. Are these rules set in stone, or could I, for example, replace 1/2 a year of general chem lab with an upper year biochem lab? The problem is that there is only a 1/2 credit intro general chem lab offered where I am...if the answer is that the case may differ from school to school, has anyone had any past experiences where they have accepted such a substitution?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

About OAC English, I called AADSAS and they were clueless as to what OAC was. The person I spoke to said only university level courses count towards course work, and that AP courses from high school have to be transferred to a university before they can count. I'm not sure if OAC are considered the same as AP courses.

G.A.'s Finest said:
Hi everyone. I'm new to SDN. I'm a Canadian student who is looking to enter a US dental school in the future. I have seen posts here and there regarding the following topics, but perhaps somebody can confirm/address the following for me?

- I have heard that OAC (grade 13 over here) english will fulfill the 1 year english requirement. Is this true for all US schools?