Research Ethical Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

schrodingerr

VMCRVM c/o 2015!!!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am participating in some animal research at school. It's a neuroscience lab and we are testing rats on a maze and how they learn to reach the food yadda yadda. The only problem is at the end of the experiment (~12weeks) we kill the rats and remove the brain, study it etc.

As a prevet student I am not sure how I feel about this...I know this is how its always been done but I cant help but feeling a bit conflicted....any thoughts? thanks all!

Members don't see this ad.

I recently interviewed for a research position, also for a mouse lab, studying genetics instead. The interviewer assumed that, as a "pre-vet"/"vet" student (did we ever resolve that whole debate?), I would have a problem with the euthanasia of the animals, in order to do more extensive testing.
I guess I'm not like the typical vet student. I believe that animals/pets are great, they deserve the best care, and it really grinds my nerves when someone doesn't take care of their pet well (no heartworm prevention, or flea/tick, etc). But I also understand the necessity of animals for science. As long as it's not science for science's sake. If a lab is going to use a mammal or primate (assuming it's in no way endangered), and treat the creature ethically, I'm fine with that. If the animal is euthanized, as long as it is humanely, and the creature's life was for some good goal (ie: understanding the brain to help people with conditions or defects) then I'm also fine about that.