Research in lab vs Working at a company (summer M1-M2)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rushmore4

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am in first year of medical school and am getting nervous about my plans for the summer. I honestly don't really know what field of medicine I want to go into though it likely will not be primary care and will probably be a relatively competitive field (maybe urology but obviously subject to change). I keep hearing how important doing research is in medical school and I hated my multiple research experiences in undergrad, but loved working at a pharmaceutical company in Research and Development. If I work in a lab or clinical work (nearby hospital) I will get paid a very nominal stipend guaranteed by medical school, but if I go back to that company or a related one (which I think I will be able to) I will be paid quite well. I haven't worked in 2 summers and I really want to start making some money so I don't have to keep having my parents give me money and so I can pay down some of my interest on my loan (my parents and my siblings who all work would also appreciate that too), but I'm afraid it will make me noncompetitive in the future for future fields. My parents don't understand the nature of applying to competitive residencies largely because my dad is a doc who graduated years ago when residency competitiveness wasn't really heard of. There is a good chance that I will be able to work in medical affairs like my former experience where I will be able to prepare literature reviews and do small research projects in their labs related to the company (either consumer products or pharmaceutical) but obviously not your traditional m1 to m2 summer experience.

Basically what are your thoughts on my situation and what would you do?

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.