Research Labs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

islandboy401

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those of you undergraduates who work in research labs (for pay or for credit), how many hours a week do you work (during semesters in which you actually have class).

Do you think this is average, more than average, or less than average.

What subject area is it (e.g., physics, biology, chemistry, biochem, etc)?

How many credits are you usually taking during that time?

I just want to get an idea of where everyone is, and what will be required of me if I choose to do research next year.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I assume you mean doing research as an undergraduate.
I am a graduate student working on my Ph.D. in analytical chemistry. The undergraduates that work in our research lab usually work 3-6 hours/week (1-2 afternoons/week). I think this is average. All of them also have a full courseload, 15 hours at least. Most are honor students and have to present their research at the end of the semester.

Yes, I meant undergraduate. Sorry about that. I have edited the question.

Members don't see this ad :)
I work in research lab right now and the amount of hours you work while carrying your course load will ultimately be settled upon conversing with your PI.

I joined the lab and started volunteering at the beginning of sophomore year and shadowed for 9 hours a week. When the summer arrived I started working another part time job. At the very beginning of my junior year before classes started she offered me a job working 20 hours a week. Since then I have been carrying 12-14 hours a semester, not to mention extracurricular activities. My lab is in the pharmacodynamics department working on ways to treat glaucoma and I have a paper out and aiming for a second by the end of this summer before pharmacy school matriculation (mostly biochemistry studies).