Residency 2016 would greatly appreciate any details.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr00G00

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I have a couple of questions and would appreciate if I can get detailed answers.

I'm an International medical graduate from Bahrain. Currently doing 1 year of internship there.

I'm thinking of applying for residency in USA. So far I know the requirements is USMLE step 1 and Step2Ck. But when is the deadline for submitting these exam results to apply for residency at USA 2016?? As I haven't did any of the steps yet. When does the residency start at 2016? If I missed it already then when is the deadline for exam and submission for 2017? Which month do residency starts?

Another question which is important to me. As far as I know PGY1 in USA is also called internship. Does doing 1 year of internship here in bahrain would make me avoid repeating internship again at USA. Would this 1 year benefit me in decreasing the total number of residency years at USA??? Or is it considered useless?? If I get accepted in USA would I start from PGY2?

Thanks Alot.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I have a couple of questions and would appreciate if I can get detailed answers.

I'm an International medical graduate from Bahrain. Currently doing 1 year of internship there.

I'm thinking of applying for residency in USA. So far I know the requirements is USMLE step 1 and Step2Ck. But when is the deadline for submitting these exam results to apply for residency at USA 2016?? As I haven't did any of the steps yet. When does the residency start at 2016? If I missed it already then when is the deadline for exam and submission for 2017? Which month do residency starts?