Residency in Austria

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maximil

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am 6-th year medical student from EU country (Estonia) and it is time for me to make some though decisions. I hope to continue my post graduate training in Austria.

I want to know the following:
1) Is it very difficult to obtain a residency position in Austria, Vienna as a foreign doctor?
2) What are the working conditions in Austria?
3) How much a regular resident doctor gets paid while doing his subspecialty in Austria?

Also, how exactly does one apply to a residency in Austria? Do I have to find a hospital that's recruiting? Is there a test I'd have to pass?

If someone could explain this to me, I'd really appreciated.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Maximil, I am a recent graduate from the Medical University of Vienna. How come you are interested in post-graduate training in Austria? Vienna is certainly a great city to live in during your university years, but much less so for non-Austrian graduates looking for competitive positions in Vienna (which is basically Austria's only 'metropolitan' region and in super high demand). I can explain the situation as it is for Austrian graduates. As an EU citizen, it should be similar for you.

As far as I know the current situation requires graduates to undergo three years of postgraduate training prior to starting residency (so called 'Turnus'). These positions are typically very unattractive as far as learning is concerned. In many hospitals fresh doctors will basically perform activities that are performed by medical personnel in other countries (blood draws, ECGs, administering infusions, etc.).