Residency program rankings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Infliunza

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm a 3rd yr student, soon to be 4th yr, and interested in pursuing a residency in internal medicine with the intention of doing a cardiology fellowship. I was hoping to find a "list" of some sorts that ranked various IM residency programs. I know there a ton of criteria to rank programs against, but is there anything out there that gives unofficial "top tier" versus "second tier" programs? I feel that I would be a borderline candidate for top tier (I'll apply but with low expectations) but could safely match within the better of the middle tier programs.

I would assume top tier programs are ones like MGH, UCSF ... what else?

Where would UPenn rank? I'm pretty interested in that program, but unsure at how realistic of a shot I have. Basically I'm interested in staying on the East coast, preferably in the NorthEast.

Does anyone have anything to say about UPMC (univ of pittsburgh) either?

Also, I'm more than willing to go to a "lesser" prestigious program if they have an awesome cardiology program that I could try to get a few years down the road.

Yeah, I know I have a lot of pain in the ass things that I've thrown out there ... but I would really appreciate any input.

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Upenn is clearly a top tier program in my opinion. Maybe even top 5. I didn't apply there, but the word on the trail was that it had a lot in common with Brigham. By that, I think people felt it was a great program with a very supportive environment. But as I said, I didn't go there, so I don't know for sure.

I don't know anything about Pitt. Good basketball team...