Resources Relevant to Psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tennessee_Sour

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there kind board members. I'm still a junior student of medicine from Australia, but I'm developing a keen interest in psychiatry and would appreciate your advice as I gather learning material.

I've started reading Fish's Clinical Psychopathology and I sometimes dip into Jaspers' General Psychopathology. Is this a good start or would it be better to start elsewhere? One of my professors is fond of the dictum, As goes your Pathology, so goes your Medicine, so I thought by analogy As goes your Psychopathology, so goes your Psychiatry. What is the difference between psychopathology and abnormal psychology? If it's more than just a difference of dialect between psychologists and psychiatrists, can you recommend any worthwhile resources on the latter discipline?

I've noticed there are many DVD's out there on the various therapeutic approaches. Are there any that are particularly excellent? Are there any good DVD's on the psychiatric interview without the slant of a particular school of therapy?

Finally, can you think of any good books on psychology, sociology and anthropology that would be valuable to psychiatric understanding? How about auto/biographies or histories? I'll leave off Imaginative Literature, because the list might grow too long.

Thank you for your time. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Before you launch into the details separating the different schools of therapy, I would point you towards more psychopathology and differential diagnosis logic. Fish is good. You might like the DSM V casebook. It is easy to read and challenges your thinking with good discussions after each case. After that, grab a major text book (Kaplan and Sadock or APA), although these are much stiffer reading. If you do head into psychiatry, they are the introductory baseline minimum.