Rethinking Pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ConfusedAboutLife

5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a p1 student. I decided on pharmacy because I had no clue what I wanted to do and my parents pushed me toward it. I am in a 7 year program, 3 years of undergrad and 4 of pharmacy school. I will get a bachelor’s in pharmaceutical sciences at the end of my p1 year. I’ve only been in pharmacy school for a month and am very unhappy with the decisions I’ve made.I guess I never thought too much about the job, just about the salary. I’ve been reading a lot online though and I am so worried I will hate it. Standing for 12 hours and barely getting a lunch break sounds hellish. Hospital pharmacy jobs sound better but I hate the thought of adding another year to do a residency. At this point, I have no desire to be in the health field at all.

I have no idea what I should do. I want to switch before I get into more student debt for a career I think I will hate. I kind of want to go back to undergrad and major in something different. I hate chemistry but biology is good. I have no idea what I would do with a biology degree since I am not that interested in the health field or research. Business sounds interesting but that would be starting completely from scratch for a degree. Commercial pilots seems like a cool job, but it costs so much money to become a pilot.

Mainly I want a job with decent benefits and vacation time where I won’t be miserable. I am just not sure what to do, because I feel like I’ve already put so much into pharmacy. What if I end up hating whatever I switch to or what if pharmacy isn’t as bad as I’m thinking. Should I start over even though even though I won’t have a scholarship for undergrad now? Should I stick with my pharmD program? I just don’t know what to do with my life.

Members don't see this ad.