About the ads

Reviving the online PsyD and PhD discussion (oh yes I did)

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by iryancooper, Feb 12, 2012.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iryancooper

iryancooper Ph.D. Student

Psychology Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    I know older posts on this subject were met with some anti-distance-ed opinions. While I don't mind reading those, the information I'm solliciting is not such that it should scold my consideration of online PsyD or PhD.

My goal is to get responses from those who know graduates (personally) of these schools. The reason I'm re-asking a question that has appeared before is simple: In the last few years a few online-schools have popped up that were not around then.

I'm a law student, and plan to support my family with a JD, not PhD or PsyD. However, I have come to believe that some basic psychological research and credibility would be personally rewarding and professionally helpful. My interests are not "so much" in clinical psychology (even though here in Texas a Licensed Psychologist does not have to have clinical specialization), as they are in psychological understanding and the ability to teach courses related to law and psychology. As for teaching credibility: I'll have my JD from a tier one law school and MA from a reputable state university. Online allows me to do one class at at time while I'm working on my JD.

If you know of any of these schools personally, let me know.
    I list them in order of my consideration:
    (They are ALL regionally accredited, all require full dissertation)

Northcentral University
    PhD in General Psych OR Ph.D. in Psych of Gender.
    $47k, 60 credits, No Residency, On my own for practicum
    notes: very admirable professors... cornell, yale, northwestern, UTexas