Roosevelt CoP (& Other new programs)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jWill90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
SDN,

I am currently a student at Roosevelt CoP in Illinois. Roosevelt is one of the many new schools recently opened, and is on a 3 year plan with yearly class sizes ~70 people. My applications stats were 93 PCAT, 3.06 GPA, and minimal experience in terms of pharm tech/volunteer work. I would like to think my low GPA was due to a combination of boredom/lack of effort, as opposed to lack of ability; my final 2 years my average GPA was ~3.9.

I applied to Roosevelt CoP after predicting my rejection from much better schools (UIC namely), and still wanting to pursue a PharmD I decided to go for it. These are some facts that I have noticed:

- The quality of students here is *much* lower than the quality of students while working on my undergraduate (in EE, + all the Org. Chem and Bio I needed). They have a listed minimum PCAT of 40 (lol). Needless to say there are students here with PCAT scores under 40; the minimums stated are likely closer to the 15th or 20th percentile than hard minimums.

- I cannot stress this enough. Most of the students are absolute *****s who have zero business pursuing (what I thought was) a prestigious PharmD. Courses are a joke. The oft repeated benefit of Roosevelt CoP over other schools is the friendly and personal relationship between students and teachers. This is a 'benefit' in the sense that students are being pushed through with lower and lower standards, instructors telling students exactly what will be on an exam, etc. It is a goddamn shame, and the whole thing feels more and more like a circle-jerk of kids who couldn't hack it in a 'real' school by each passing day. I would not be surprised if the school had some sort of attrition requirement (i.e. max attrition of 5% or something), to keep the $ flowing. The whole operation stinks.