Rotations suck......not learn anything

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SpringDO

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Soo my third year sucks... I've been assigned to hospitals where the attendings dont care and they dont really teach and they let you go home early and dont even care if you show up.

I feel like my whole 3rd year was wasted. I complained about this but they cant place me anywhere else b/c spots are all filled up.

Does anyone have any similar experiences??? I try to be proactive but honestly I dont learn that much.

I am studying for step 2 on my own and everything I learn in from review books.

You will be shocked but I have not even written ONE SIGNLE NOTE TO DATE!!!

Am I going to be screwed come residency? I dont know what to do except study hard for step 2, but I feel like ill be a bad resident. I can try to rotate at better hospitals during fourth year and learn stuff then.

Anyone in my shoes can comment that would be helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
To be honest, you will really be behind in residency. You are pretty much on your own during residency to manage your own patients with just little feedback from senior residents and attendings. Rotations during med school help you become more comfortable with managing pts and efficient with writing notes. If I were you I would sign up for sub internships and work really hard ur 4th yr. your school has a duty to prepare you for residency and I would not back down with them. Tell them that u have not written any notes. Good Luck.

Soo my third year sucks... I've been assigned to hospitals where the attendings dont care and they dont really teach and they let you go home early and dont even care if you show up.

I feel like my whole 3rd year was wasted. I complained about this but they cant place me anywhere else b/c spots are all filled up.