Rutgers- NJMS vs. PennState Hershey

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed7151985

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am trying to decide between the school and I'm having a really hard time making a decision. Does anyone have any advice as to the pros and cons of each school please??

I like that penn has a slight better reputation than njms and I think that might be beneficial when applying to residency (right?), and also it's in a much nicer (safer) area which I prefer as to the craziness of Newark.

But... Students at njms seem to really like the school and I like that at njms you get great hands on experience and I feel like going to school in Newark I'll have more exposure to a variety of different case (although I hear that even tho penn state is in the middle of nowhere, they often get patients flown in the helipad).

I am a nj resident and tuition at njms will obviously be cheaper, but at the end of the day I want to go to the school in which I'll be happier. Can any students from either school weight in please? Any advice is welcomed!

Members don't see this ad.

I like that penn has a slight better reputation than njms and I think that might be beneficial when applying to residency (right?),
Yes, Penn State has a slightly better reputation than NJMS, but if NJMS has a reputation of 85/100, then Penn State has a reputation of 87/100. It's not enough to be a consideration.

and also it's in a much nicer (safer) area which I prefer as to the craziness of Newark.
True, but some people would be driven mad by how isolated Hershey is. Newark, on the other hand, is just outside NYC, which could be a fun place to go in your free time.