Salary vs RVU based private practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SuperDO

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my second year working as a Cardiologist on a salary with a private group. I have noticed that most other Cardiologists are on an RVU like system. To those of you who work for RVU's, what has your experience been? If you work at a busy hospital do you typically meet and maybe exceed what is required of you? What are typical salaries starting / 3 to 5 years out? Ive seen numbers online but they often seem exaggerated.

How do you feel this will play out long term. If there are experiences from both non-invasive and interventional docs, I would appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently in my second year working as a Cardiologist on a salary with a private group. I have noticed that most other Cardiologists are on an RVU like system. To those of you who work for RVU's, what has your experience been? If you work at a busy hospital do you typically meet and maybe exceed what is required of you? What are typical salaries starting / 3 to 5 years out? Ive seen numbers online but they often seem exaggerated.

How do you feel this will play out long term. If there are experiences from both non-invasive and interventional docs, I would appreciate it.

Depends on a lot of factors obviously...

Salary usually is easier work at the expense of a ceiling for a salary. So better for older guys, guys that don't want to work as hard, those who want 6-10 weeks off, ect..

RVU models vary. I'm in a strict RVU pay only. I get a set dollar amount in my psa with no other support. So strictly eat what u kill.