SCO academic calendar

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Superblyme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I have a question about the academic scheduling and loan periods at SCO. I know 1st years start classes in the beginning of september and get 9 months worth of financial aid (so that would go through May, then). I also know that 2nd years get 10 months worth, and 3rd and 4th years get 12 months each. My question is, when do 2nd years begin taking classes? And then when does 3rd year start? Trying to figure out exactly how many months I'm going to have to pay rent and everything else on my own... I'm new to this "budgeting" business (never really had any money to budget before), and so it's kind of stressing me out.

Thanks a ton!

Members don't see this ad.

You read my mind! i am not so interested in the calendar but in the loans themselves. What is the best way to do this. I am eligible for loans, but I know interest starts accruing day one on graduate loans and it is 6.8%! So is it better to take out other types of loans (home equity?) if I can. they seem to have lower interest rateand i know that i would have to start paying them back right away, instead of the stafford? Crazy that students don't get a break with lower interest! I always heard student loans were the best type, not so sure any more. Help!

2nd year officially starts in July, where you have a "Summer Mini-Term".
3rd year starts in May for the Summer Semester.

In regards to loans, you will get a huge deposit into your checking account each semester. For my first year, I just adjusted my monthly allowance for myself to make up for the other months..

For example.. SCO says we will give you enough $$$ for 10 months in the amount of 10,000 giving you $1000.00 a month (these are made up numbers by the way).. I would get the money and just divide it by 12 months. SO my budget would be $833.00 a month.