Screwed up, what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rangee12

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need some advice on the mess that I've made. I've been dismissed from my D.O. med school, failed level 1 2x, then unsuccessfully appealed the Dean's decision. Before med school I considered dental school, with around 120 shadowing hours. Right now I'm trying to figure out what options to pursue. In total, I have ~200k in student loans, and I've maxed out any remaining federal student loan eligibility, except for Grad Plus. My undergrad GPA was a 3.25 O, and a 3.29 Science, but I graduated in 2010, so I'm not sure if my prequisites would still be eligibile. Do I have any chance of being admitted, with this dismissal that I'll have to disclose on the application?

Members don't see this ad.

If you failed first year of medical school twice, what makes you think you'll be able to get through dental school in one piece?

Reactions: 6 users
med school (MD) and dental school (DMD/DDS) are identical for the first two years so i doubt that they would be sympathetic. Ive been told by all the Ives and schools that the only difference between the classes are they days on which they are taught

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I need some advice on the mess that I've made. I've been dismissed from my D.O. med school, failed level 1 2x, then unsuccessfully appealed the Dean's decision. Before med school I considered dental school, with around 120 shadowing hours. Right now I'm trying to figure out what options to pursue. In total, I have ~200k in student loans, and I've maxed out any remaining federal student loan eligibility, except for Grad Plus. My undergrad GPA was a 3.25 O, and a 3.29 Science, but I graduated in 2010, so I'm not sure if my prequisites would still be eligibile. Do I have any chance of being admitted, with this dismissal that I'll have to disclose on the application?