Second thoughts about hospital pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CanPharm

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm doing my last year pharmacy hospital rotation. I always thought that I would apply for a residency and go into hospital (clinical) pharmacy after I graduated. But now, I'm having second thoughts. It's been my second day at the hospital and it seems that all I do is look through chart after chart. To make things worse, I don't feel like I'm doing my job well because it is so difficult to get good information from the charts due to the the bad writing and that pieces of relevent information scattered around. I'm starting to miss community because at least you get to talk to patients and make more recommendations.
I know you guys can't really help, but I just wanted to ask if or can it get better? Is an actual residency better than a school related practicum? I guess I'm just disappointed with how my rotation is turning out, especially since I'm rotating in a medical specialty which I have no interest in. Sorry, I just wanted to vent a bit :laugh:

Members don't see this ad.