Seeing a Resident for Therapy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StudentTherapy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Sorry if this isn't appropriate for this sub.

I'm a med student and I've been thinking about going to the resident clinic for therapy. The one thing I'm worried about is that I'll also be doing a psych rotation at that same facility--not in the outpatient service, though. I could always ask that I be placed with someone who won't be on service at the time, but I don't know if that would be more weird.

I'm mostly looking for guidance with changing a few lingering behaviors that have held me back in med school, not really tackling any DSM pathology. I figured given the region, there's probably people interested in/doing psychodynamic stuff around here.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I know atleast a couple programs the outpatient resident clinics specifically don't treat medical students from the medschool. I think if by some bad luck a medstudent was treated by a resident/attending while a medstudent and then happened to have some sort of even minor academic trainee/supervisor contact with that person even years later as a student or resident, the LCME can give the med school a pretty rough time.

Members don't see this ad :)
I know atleast a couple programs the outpatient resident clinics specifically don't treat medical students from the medschool. I think if by some bad luck a medstudent was treated by a resident/attending while a medstudent and then happened to have some sort of even minor academic trainee/supervisor contact with that person even years later as a student or resident, the LCME can give the med school a pretty rough time.
Yep.
Find an independent social worker, psychologist, or psychiatrist outside of the place you work.