Seeking Advice on Cardiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JLarry8900

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a med student nearing the end of my third year, and I'm trying to decide what specialty to pursue. I think I've dwindled it down to Cardiology or Anesthesia. Honestly, I think I'm more interested in going for Cardio, but there are a few things that are making me hesitant. I go to a top 5 med school, but I scored a 224 on Step 1, and I only have a research project in Anesthesia, but it didn't amount to any pubs, unfortunately. My main reservation is that I want to practice in either Indiana, Chicagoland area, or around Milwaukee, and I want to do my residency and fellowship in these areas. I've heard, however, that Cardio fellowships can be hard to come by, and that the job market isn't that strong. A piece of me is terrified at the idea of not getting a fellowship, or getting one that will force me to move far away from my loved ones again for 3 years. I'm also not interested in interventional Cards. So, I guess my questions are, how competitive is a Cards fellowship, particularly within the Chicagoland area (it has the most programs of the places I mentioned), and have I set myself up badly in med school, and should I even be pursuing Cards with my concerns about job placement and potentially not getting a fellowship or one that's far away. Thanks for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

If you get into any of the strong internal medicine residencies in Chicago and you work very hard, at the minimum you could match in your "home" fellowship program.
For an American medical graduate....at this stage getting into a strong residency program gives you a headstart

If you get into any of the strong internal medicine residencies in Chicago and you work very hard, at the minimum you could match in your "home" fellowship program.