Seeking Direction!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LNR4205

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long term lurker but I decided to post now. I need some sort of direction as to where to go from here. This will probably be a long post so brace yourselves!!

I graduated from HS in 2006 and went to play football at a small Division 3 school. Always knew I wanted to be a dentist, however, I didn't take school as serious as I should. I made the mistake of trying to chase the football dream and "make it to the league." Because of this I transferred to 5 different schools trying to find a program that would take me to the NFL (young and dumb I know).

My GPA suffered tremendously throughout my college career. Because of this, I ended my undergrad career with a 2.47 BCP, 2.71 Science, 3.27 non science and 2.94 total.

After graduating, I applied to a masters certificate program for students who did not perform well in undergrad but wanted to attend professional school. In that program I took histology, biochem, biostat, anatomy and physiology. I received a C in biostat and was on the verge of making a C in anatomy. Because of this, the dean of the program suggested that I withdraw from the program and when I applied to dental school she said she would write a letter of rec explaining my situation and why I withdrew. I finished the grad program with a 2.82

I applied last year and didn't receive any interview invites. As far as my application is concerned, I feel like I have a solid personal statement, letters of rec and extra curricular activities. My grades are what's holding me back.

SDN where do I go from here. I'm sorry if my post is grammatically all over the place (my thoughts are all over the place)! I am a 27 year old URM father of a 5 year old girl. At this point I don't know if it's worth doing another grad program or even if a grad program will accept me because of my GPA.