Selecting Medical Schools with Low GPA/High MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stang13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am a resident of NY that graduated from a highly regarded (not Ivy, but top tier) liberal arts college. I double majored in Chemistry and Economics and graduated last May with roughly 3.1 overall GPA (3.2 Science). I took the MCAT in the summer of 2012 for the second time and got a 37Q (33M the previous summer I think). Obviously I made some poor choices, basically did not prioritize my studies, spent too much time playing intramural sports and working, and majored in two subjects I thought were good for me rather than ones I enjoyed. The med-school advisors told me I wouldn't get in anywhere, even Caribbean, so I decided to enroll in a 2 year Bachelor's program in Medical Technology (using the upper level clinical courses as a post-bac to bring up the grades but I really love my classes). I have limited leadership experience (President/Treasurer of one club in college) and only volunteered during high school (~275 hours in a hospital). I also got a bad grade in Orgo II due to medical reasons but retook it last summer at another school and got an A. Last semester I only had one class so tried to work a lot and shadowed a surgeon from June to December. Now I have five classes and looking to get an A in all (have nearly all As since graduating and before during high school), applying with an overall of about 3.25 and science of 3.4 (including all college courses). I work on the weekends and am also looking to begin volunteering at a hospital again soon, but it is probably late to look good on apps. I am applying this summer and look forward to hearing any advice you can give me moving forward (there is little to change about my application at this point besides nailing the PS and interviews). I am trying to be realistic about my chances and would like your suggestion