Shadowing a Child Psychiatrist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oracle2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to SDN, still in the pre-med phase and I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this. I am a non-trad planning to apply to med school in the next year or 2, so I won't be starting until around age 28 or 29 if all goes according to plan (where, oh where, does the time go? I feel like I graduated from college just yesterday..). I have heard that my age will put me at somewhat of a disadvantage for MD schools, but I may be more welcomed by DO schools which I am ok with. My primary interest has always been pediatrics - most of my clinical volunteering and shadowing experience has been in the field. However, I'm also interested in psychiatry. Developmental psychology and neuroscience were my favorite subjects in undergrad, and I have some idea of what psychiatrists do based on personal experience and some family experiences. I know shadowing a psychiatrist is very difficult/impossible due to privacy issues, but I was wondering if child psychiatrists might be more open to shadowing? I'm guessing the parents woudl have to approve. I've been considering emailing child psychiatrists in my area to inquire about shadowing or just talk to me about their job, but I don't know if this is even appropriate. Any advice? And if anyone in the field would like to share their views on it and feelings about their job that would be great. I know it's an understaffed field so I'm guessing there are some major drawbacks.

Members don't see this ad.