Short acting spinals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Crash cart

Nothing good ever happens past midnight
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm hoping to get some input on what others are doing with regard to short acting spinals (1 - 2 hours) for knee scopes, GU, etc... I'm getting pressure from my partners to stop using lidocaine for fear of TNS. I have limited experience with chlorprocaine and mepivicaine. I've found cutting back on the bupivicaine dose still gives a pretty lasting block. Any advice? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I like 3% chloroprocaine (1.6-2 cc) for the 45 min to 1 hour cases and 2% mepivacaine 2 cc diluted to 3 cc with saline for around 90 minute cases. Never did it before starting PP, but my partners got me hooked!

What about ropivicaine? Is that available to you? I believe it's much more expensive but supposedly has less motor block. I don't think it's the long-lasting effects of a block that are detrimental so much as the long-lasting MOTOR block.

I don't have much experience with ropivicaine. But I would be interested to hear from people who do.

Members don't see this ad :)
I like 3% chloroprocaine (1.6-2 cc) for the 45 min to 1 hour cases and 2% mepivacaine 2 cc diluted to 3 cc with saline for around 90 minute cases. Never did it before starting PP, but my partners got me hooked!

Ditto on the Chloroprocaine.

For the last 3 years I've been using a 1 cc of hyperbaric bupi + 25 ug fentanyl for cerclages/cystos under spinal. I always get at least a T10 level, and thus avoid lido/TNS. May want to give Zofran prior to injecting the spinal to avoid the rare PONV from the fentanyl.

I'm pretty open minded, but that just sounds nuts.