Short Survey of HCPs Injection Training Experiences, Your Input is Invaluable!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IAAresearch

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My name is Dan and I am a graduate student at San Jose State University, pursuing a MS in Human Factors and Ergonomics. I am currently running an anonymous survey study assessing the impact of injection device usability on patient acceptance and usage of injectable medication (found at:https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/37KK3WB).

I am doing this to demonstrate to pharmaceutical companies just how important it is for patients that an injection device is usable and user friendly. I plan on publishing my results so that awareness of this issue endures, spreads, and hopefully influences the design choices companies make when creating these devices.

Are you a Health Care Provider (Nurses, Pharmacists, PAs, Medical Assistants/Techs, CDEs, etc.) who trains any type of patient to use an injection device at home? I am interested in all forms of injection devices, including but not limited to:

Prefilled Syringes, Syringe and vial combinations, Disposable Pens, Reusable pens, Disposable Auto-Injectors, Reusable Auto-Injectors, and Reconstitution kits

If you ever trained a patient to perform an injection at home and afterwards discovered or experienced any of the following, please share your experiences with us through this survey.

· Patient was too scared or intimidated by the device to perform the procedure.

· Patient performed the procedure but with a lot of hesitation and difficulty, and may have made some mistakes.

· Patient made a mistake and did not receive the full dose (they lost some or all of the medication).

· Patient could not figure out how to use the device and returned it to their health care provider or pharmacist.

· Patient called their health care provider or pharmacist for help in order to complete the procedure.