Should I apply or improve my portfolio?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Izikiel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a fourth year undergraduate majoring in Cellular Biology and English with a minor in Philosophy. The latter two subjects aren't focused on anything in particular (i.g. Comparative Literature or Ethics). I will be graduating, in one more year - it's taking me five years - with a 3.2 gpa, and my current test scores are 38 MCAT and 167 LSAT. For those interested as to why I have an LSAT score, I am planning to enroll in a dual program, JD/MD. I've completed 280 hours of hospital internship, and another 300-400 hours of non-specific volunteer work.

I'm probably going to look for a doctor shadowing opportunity for the upcoming summer, and research if I can find it. My question is, should I apply for schools when I get to that point, or should I take time to improve my lackluster gpa? I've been thinking of obtaining a masters in public health, though I am also leaning towards a masters in 18th century british literature; I've even considered applying to the JET program for two years to teach English abroad. Any advice?

p.s. I am sorry for this wall of text.

p.p.s I will probably attach an addendum to explain why I received poor marks. I've been working full time since I entered university, and I've been taking an overloaded unit load each term. It probably dwindles down to poor time management and stretching myself too thin.

Thanks for putting up with my post.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,