Should I Apply This Year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jadefire94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a prevet student at WashU in St. Louis, and I'm a Junior, struggling to decide whether or not I should apply next summer - the reason being I probably won't get in and if I take a gap year, the vet schools can see my senior year grades and extra vet experience.

So here are my stats (I realistically estimated how everything would be by next summer)

Major: Spanish
Minor: Biology
GPA: 3.35
GRE: unknown (haven't taken it yet)

Vet Experience:
-300 hours of small animal experience
-100 hours equine experience

Animal Experience:
-250 hours volunteering at animal shelter
-100 hours zoo experience

I have three people in mind to write my letters of recommendation, and I'm hoping to get a good GRE score since I'm a very good test-taker, but I'm afraid that my GPA and vet experience is too low for me to apply next cycle anyway. If I wait, my senior year will increase my GPA, and I'll have even more experience and better chances of getting in. But I've heard of people getting in with even lower GPAs, so should I just try and see what happens? Or would it be a waste of my time and money?

Thanks; I appreciate any input! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I have three people in mind to write my letters of recommendation, and I'm hoping to get a good GRE score since I'm a very good test-taker, but I'm afraid that my GPA and vet experience is too low for me to apply next cycle anyway.

I can't speak to the GPA issue, but I'm willing to bet I'm one of the members here that applied with the lowest experience hours. I rekindled the vet dream rather recently and spent the summer racking up what I could; I only have 110 SA / 21 LA hours. We all hope for holistically-viewed applications, and we all have strengths and weaknesses.