Should I be worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Meowmix1712

SGUSVM c/o 2020!!!!
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated in 2008 and just took biochemistry. Since I don't know who any of my past teachers are, I asked my biochem teacher to write me a letter so I had an academic. We had a good repor and I participated in class a lot so I didn't think it would be unwise to ask her. Well, I started my app on day 1, sent out the ELoR and ppi (Colorado seems to still need this) and she ALREADY finished everything.... One week in lol...

Does anyone have any similar experience of ELoRs finishing lightning quick? Do most teachers have a template they reuse and just fill in the student's name? I'm worried because she never responded to me email asking her if she wanted my resume etc to help her write. I'm sure I'm just overly worried but it's my first time applying!!

Members don't see this ad.

It should be a B, still waiting on final grade.

Members don't see this ad :)
I asked one of my work study employers, who I know does like me and knows me very well on a personal level, to write me an evaluation and he finished his within a day of receiving the form. It could be a red flag, especially since you mentioned not providing any transcripts, resumes, or personal statements, but then again, there are people who just have more time on their hands.

Some of mine got it done immediately, and some took every last second to do it. I think it just depends on the person's personality rather than whether it's a good letter or not.

Reactions: 1 user
there are people who just have more time on their hands.

I gotta say, I didn't find this to be a very gracious comment.

When people have asked me to write references in my old job, I tried to do it as quickly as possible for their sake as well as for mine (to get it off my list). It certainly was not because I was sitting around with nothing else to do.