Should I Even Bother Applying This Cycle? Writing MCAT on the 25th

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IceyDice

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So i'm a pharmacy graduate looking to applying to medicine. Due to my board exams finishing at the end of May, I didn't have time to study for the MCAT until afterwards and am writing on the 25th of August. I am looking to apply to American medical schools but i've heard this is too late in the cycle to start. I wouldn't get my application in until early September and even then my MCAT score won't be released until the end of September.

My GPA is ~3.63 with a huge upward trend, my projected MCAT is 512, but my ECs are above average so I don't stand out that much unless the pharmacy degree and work do. Should I even bother applying this late in the game or should I wait a year? I really don't want to wait 2 whole years to get into a medical program as i'm getting old so i'll be looking into the Atlantic Bridge Program and Sackler.

Members don't see this ad.

So i'm a pharmacy graduate looking to applying to medicine. Due to my board exams finishing at the end of May, I didn't have time to study for the MCAT until afterwards and am writing on the 25th of August. I am looking to apply to American medical schools but i've heard this is too late in the cycle to start. I wouldn't get my application in until early September and even then my MCAT score won't be released until the end of September.

My GPA is ~3.63 with a huge upward trend, my projected MCAT is 512, but my ECs are above average so I don't stand out that much unless the pharmacy degree and work do. Should I even bother applying this late in the game or should I wait a year? I really don't want to wait 2 whole years to get into a medical program as i'm getting old so i'll be looking into the Atlantic Bridge Program and Sackler.