PhD/PsyD Should I only apply to mentors whose research I have experience in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brightbluebirds

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
One of my PI's mentioned that I should only apply to mentors whose research I have experience in. For example, I have a lot of autism research and experience. However, I want to apply to Clinical Psychology programs with mentors who study neuropsychology. She told me that those mainly studying autism would be interested and I shouldn't really apply outside of that. Is this true? Have any of you all applied to mentors whose research differed from your experiences in undergrad? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You can definitely apply to mentors who have different research experience, you just need to connect the dots. Talk about the skills you learned from doing research in the autism area, and connect what you have done with what you want to do. Jumping from autism to neuropsychology is a plausible jump (even less of a jump if you're talking about child focus neuropsychologists, but still reasonable for adults). I can imagine a statement that essentially talks about becoming interested in the brain's functions after working with participants/patients on the autism spectrum, etc.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi, I would say it's very doable. I've done research and worked with patients diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder in the past and now I am working with adult patients with psychiatric disorders (dep, bipolar, schizophrenia) doing neuropsych assessments in clinical research. This will lead me towards applying to neuropsych programs later on. So I would also agree on that you have to know how to connect the dots. You have to know how to connect each research experience.

Members don't see this ad :)
+1 to emotregulation.