Should I push back my mcat exam?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
M

mitrieD

My Mcat exam date is the 22nd of January. I started studying in late September 2015. I took three EK Mcat practice exams so far and got 51%, 53%, and 50% (more difficult than the first two) respectively. I took the last EK exam a week ago (Dec 26th).

I think a ~50% on EK exams are closer to a 490 on the actual Mcat. Which is not good enough. As I review my exams I notice that my biggest weakness is my critical thinking skills, which I have no idea how to improve. I seem to struggle with having the right logic expected from me from the test writers.

I can use any advice, please.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Practice MCAT scores are a good barometer for your score on the actual test...usually within a few points or so. If you're scoring around a 490 on the EK practice, then it follows that your actual score is going to be a few points around that. Take your MCAT when your practice scores are where you want them to be.

I've always read that EK practice tests are a lot more difficult than the actual MCAT. Have you taken tests from any other companies? Are you studying with EK material or with books from a different company?

I've always read that EK practice tests are a lot more difficult than the actual MCAT. Have you taken tests from any other companies? Are you studying with EK material or with books from a different company?

I studied with EK + TPR psych soc + Kaplan biochem

Next week I'll be either taking the AAMC practice exam or Next Step exam