Should I reapply with my new MCAT score?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedstudenttt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay so I have been accepted to two medical schools: UTMB and TTUHSC. I think both schools are great. I am a 100% certain I will be attending one of them.

My MCAT score drastically improved (29 to a 38). I took it out of cycle though so it does not have any bearing on my current application. I got accepted with my original score.

Would anyone consider reapplying in this case to get into schools like Baylor, Southwestern, and top out of state schools (I am a Texas resident)? I am just curious.

Members don't see this ad.

That would be dumb. Imo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I don't think you should reapply

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
all MD schools will know you declined acceptances.
Not true.

AMCAS and/or AACOMAS schools won't be aware that you got TMDSAS school acceptances as there is no cross-communication between those application systems, but I'd bet they'll assume you applied through the Texas system at the same time, and are less likely to attend their school if they accept you. This would change the dynamic of their decision-making to be less favorable to you.

It would be good to have @Goro @gyngyn @LizzyM chime in to verify what I said, but I've seen several of these threads and what I said seems to be the case, the Texas system may be separate though

Not true.

AMCAS and/or AACOMAS schools won't be aware that you got TMDSAS school acceptances as there is no cross-communication between those application systems, but I'd bet they'll assume you applied through the Texas system at the same time, and are less likely to attend their school if they accept you. This would change the dynamic of their decision-making to be less favorable to you.
Alright I edited my post. Thank you!