Should I Retake the New MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ethicsguy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am currently debating whether or not I should retake the new MCAT. I took the old MCAT twice and the highest score I received was a 26 (9,9,8) on my second attempt. I felt rather prepared both times and consistently averaged around 32-34 with a 36 on my best attempt on the practice exams before taking the exam. I used Kaplan and Exam Krackers as study material, as well as got a tutor to help. My major issue is the time constraints and atmosphere of the test itself, I felt like I understood the material both times.

I am a non-traditional student and decided to do my own post-bac. My cGPA is ~3.8 and sGPA ~3.7. I consider my EC's very good, with work experience, and lots of volunteer work (non-medical) of over 600 hours. I also have ~380 clinical volunteer hours and separate work experience in hospital admin. I am also currently in a Masters program (medical ethics) that will end at the end of this year (June). I did apply to schools this cycle, and have yet to hear back or have been rejected. I am wait-listed by one school currently, but I cannot expect that to pull through. I only applied to Allopathic schools, and am only considering MD schools due to the direction I want to take my career.

My main dilemma is since my last test was before I started my Masters program back in July, I have not been keeping up with the material on the MCAT, especially the new material, some of which I do not have prerequisites in. I currently do not have time to actually fully dive into the material until I complete my masters since it is very time consuming.

I was wondering if anyone else has a similar situation or can shed more light on the benefits/risks of taking the new MCAT or reapplying next cycle with my current ****ty score. Any help/information would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.