Should I take a Gap Year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted671237

Hey,

Just wanted to get your advice regarding if I should take a gap year or not. I am currently a junior in undergrad. I have decent ECs, but feel a year of beefing up my volunteering and research will be very helpful in applying.

There are 2 concerns I have with taking a gap year, however:
1.) However, most applicants for the 2017 matriculating class will probably have the new MCAT. Will schools either not accept or not take the old MCAT as seriously if I apply next year?
2.) Med Schools get more competitive every year, will one more year make it that much tougher to get in?

Are these legit concerns?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
From what my pre-med advising office has told me, I don't think there would be a problem applying next year with the old MCAT. The fear once was that old MCAT would not be accepted anymore so people who took it their sophomore years would be screwed over but I don't think that fear has materialized - someone correct me if I'm wrong.

That said, many applicants nowadays, including me, are taking a year off to strengthen applications to med school or because, in my case, there is simply too much to do this year to worry about writing essays and all! You want to apply when your application is strongest, whenever that may be for you. But many med schools are getting applications now from people who have taken gap year(s) and if you've done something meaningful during those years and still show that commitment towards medicine, it could give you a leg up on people coming straight out of undergrad. You're also being compared to people who have done a lot during their gap years if you apply straight out of undergrad. That's just what my advisers have told me, so take it at face value.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user