Should i take ACOM or try again?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheWhiteSpark

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Guys, i need some advice, perhaps some common sense knocked into me.

I got accepted to ACOM but i have to tell them if i am going by Monday. I have not gotten any other acceptances.

I have already re-submitted my application to AMCAS and AACOMAS and have gotten 2 secondaries. My application is MUCH stronger this year. Before, i did not have any LORs from a clinical experience but i do now, i didnt have ANY patient exposure, but i do now, and i have been working in a genetics lab full-time for 6 months.

Should i just go to ACOM or should i try again? ACOM is nice, but it is far away from my family and not what i imagined.

From what i can tell, my biggest black mark is a C- in one of my Organic chemistry classes (I do have a biochem class that could take its place for some schools but its a C+). my GPA is 3.3 and my science GPA is 3.07(ouch, i know), i got a 32 on the MCAT. I have 100 hours of research from a few semesters of research under a professor at my school. I have about 60 hours shadowing 2 different doctors (a general surgeon and a pediatrician). 30 hours of patient exposure, and 60 hours of volunteer work at a local library.

Members don't see this ad.

MD is most probably out of the question. Your GPAs are well below average for MD. Actually your GPAs are really low for DO. So The C- in Ochem is not your only issue. 30 hours of patient exposure is not enough. and 60 hours of community service is low too. You caught a huge break with your acceptance to ACOM. Take it if you want to be a doc. Oh and you shouldn't have applied to ACOM if you didn't want to go there.

Reactions: 1 users
You really dont think an MCAT score 6-8 points above the DO average counters the lower GPA?