should I take out money from 401k during residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hantah

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm currently a PGY-II radiology resident (making ~65k). My intern program last year put ~$4000 into our 401k account. I'm considering taking this out now because I'm probably at the at the lowest possible tax bracket in my lifetime. Even with the 10% penalty, I still project that I'll pay more in taxes after retirement probably. What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Your logic is good, but not the plan. You should keep funding the 401k, then when you leave residency, or sooner if possible, roll the money to a Roth IRA or else roll it to a traditional IRA and then convert that money into a Roth. Some 401ks might allow you to roll that money to a Roth now, but probably you can't do it until you leave that job. Some plans might allow you to have a Roth 401k directly. Check with HR.

There won't be a 10% penalty for converting that money to a Roth, and you will pay little or no taxes on the conversion because of your low tax bracket, as you noted. If you can, you should also contribute directly to a Roth IRA every year now if you can afford it. All that money will grow tax free forever.

Reactions: 2 users
Your logic is good, but not the plan. You should keep funding the 401k, then when you leave residency, or sooner if possible, roll the money to a Roth IRA or else roll it to a traditional IRA and then convert that money into a Roth. Some 401ks might allow you to roll that money to a Roth now, but probably you can't do it until you leave that job. Some plans might allow you to have a Roth 401k directly. Check with HR.