Should I take Step 2 CK now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sswang00

MS4
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a student of an American medical school that just finished year 2.
Due to a shoulder injury and surgery, I could not start my clinical rotations.

I just finished step 1 one month ago and am taking one year off.
Do you guys think I should study for and take the Step 2 CK?

I scored 242 in Step 1 and have free time to study for Step 2 CK
but I have not yet done clinical rotations

-Will I be at an advantage because Step 1 material is fresh in my head?
-or Will I be at a disadvantage because I did not do my rotations yet?

Part of me just wants to take it and get it over with

Members don't see this ad.

I think that's a dangerous proposition.

The reason I did well on Step 2 CK (a significant improvement over my step 1 score) was because I spent the year studying for shelf exams.

Step 1 material helps a little bit, but the material for step 2 is that, plus application, plus some new stuff. It also helps to see some of it in clinic.

I don't think taking it now will help you very much, and you're more likely to get a better score if you take it after your 3rd year clerkships.

I think you really need your clerkships to do well on CK. I know that between studying for the shelf exams and then just the knowledge I picked up doing rotations has made studying for this exam so much easier. I have only found Step 1 information useful as far as just having a good base for knowing the pathophys...but, that usually won't answer the question. It would be a shame for you to take it too soon and not do as well on CK as you did on Step 1.