Should I wait a year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dom D

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My GPA is 3.8. My science GPA is 4.0. I have no clinical experience as of yet, but I have probably 100 hours of volunteer time on campus at my university and some shadowing. I'm a history major and made this decision recently, too recently to rack up stats needed. MCAT practice tests around 36 with 14-15s in verbal reasoning common. A true humanities person with a strong background in science. My school of choice is Cooper Medical. I love Camden and want to learn and practice there. I love surgery because I love tools. I'm a full time union worker, working on pharmaceuticals and medical devices. I'm a fine woodworker, a clothes designer and assembler, a designer and assembler of musical effects. I can't even stress how badly I want this. It's a lump in my throat constantly, getting worse and worse. Is a year long enough to rack up the extracurriculars I need clinically? I have access to a family practice doctor I can shadow and also 3 local hospitals to volunteer at.

Members don't see this ad.

wait a year. Get good recs (preferably someone you've shadowed or from a clinical experience). do clincal work. show that you know what you're getting yourself into.

Oh and take the real MCAT, see what you get.

I would say 6 months in, evaluate and take stock
what have you learned?
is this something you want to do?

How do you know you want to be a doctor? You haven't really exposed yourself enough to the field to know if it's something you can do for the rest of your life (in great debt too). You really need to beef up your ECs.

I think you should take the MCAT as soon as possible since you're scoring so high. This way, you won't have to take the new MCAT when it comes out.

Your GPA is great. Have you taken all of the prereqs necessary?

Also, troll?

Members don't see this ad :)
Certainly not a troll.