Should I wait on applying this fall?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bulldogs2741

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to these boards but have been browsing them for info for some time recently. I graduated last year in '09 from the University of Redlands. I was originally going to get into teaching but that isn't happening with the climate for teachers in California, so I decided to go into PT last summer.

The decision was made a little late so I wasn't able to get into any of the classes at the local CC to get the some of the prereq's that I need. This spring I took Psych100 and A&P I with 4.0's in both right now. I still need to take A&PII, another psych and a stat to finish my prereq's, the others I fulfilled at Redlands.

My question really is whether it would be beneficial for me to wait because I am not sure if I'll be able to get into the APII course I need, this summer and would need then take the rest of the prereq's in the fall and then would not even show up on my applications. I also should retake my Physics courses I took b/c I received 2.3's in both because I thought that I would never need to use that stuff when I was going to be a HS Biology teacher.

But with all of that I would pin my GPA after I finish the prereq's at a 3.3/3.4ish. But with retaking the Physics I would be able to have close to a 3.6 or 3.7.

I have also been involved with many things extra curricular such as:

- Coaching baseball at a High school for the past 3 years and will be the head JV coach next year.
- Getting hours at Loma Linda University PT and will be getting hours at a ortho clinic this summer.
- Maintaining a job at a sports bar for the past 4 years.
- Working as a tutor for the AVID program at the same HS I coach at
- being a youth group leader at my church for 3 years.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
- Working as a tutor for the AVID program at the same HS I coach at